Day 24: Boredom

rain-20242_640

 

I’m a bit bored today. Though I’m having a relaxed family day at home – which is something to be very grateful for, I know – there’s an undercurrent of boredom, unhappiness and general ‘meh’. I have no idea why. But I do know I have certain reactions to feeling like this.

 

One of my reactions is to look for things to buy. Today I’ve found myself looking at books on ebay and ogling some yoga wear (not that I really do much yoga!). My other half is going to the Tesco monster in a little bit, because he wants to get some petrol, and the temptation to go with him is huge. I really just seem to crave something to fill the hole.

 

But I’m staying here. Feeling bored. Accepting that this is how I feel right now, but this also will change, as everything does.

 

Photo on pixabay

7 thoughts on “Day 24: Boredom

  1. You have perfectly captured the universal human experience, I think: We have what we said we wanted, we feel ‘a hole’, we want to fill it up. Rather than just feeling what we feel, trusting that it will pass …….. as all things do.

    Like

      1. Agreed:) Learning to be friends w/ what we feel is part of it, I think — to not beat myself up because I feel such & such.

        Like

  2. When people tell me they are bored, I don’t understand. To sit alone in quite meditation, to read a book a friend recommended, to write a note to a loved one for a past kindness, to watch that DVD that has been sitting on the coffee table, to take a walk in solitude and observe nature are just a hand full of things to do. To be bored is alien to me.

    Like

    1. That’s great! I’m glad that you don’t feel boredom, because it’s not a positive state of mind at all.
      Sometimes I do, I have to say. I think it comes from craving and from disatisfaction… I’m learning how to deal with it, one step at a time 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment